The Open 2022 – 19th Hole Golf Blog by Your Golf Travel

Past Open Championships at St Andrews

The Old Course at St Andrews has held The Open more times than any other course on The Open rota, the 150th Open Championship will be the 30th time the event has been held on the Old Course.

In recent times, The Old Course has seen USA’s Zach Johnson (2015) and South Africa’s Louis Oosthuizen (2010) claim the title. With Tiger Woods achieving a double of Open Championship wins in 2005 and 2000 with record scores of -18 and -19 respectively.

Past greats who have triumphed on The Old Course to win an Open Championship include J.H. Taylor, winner of 2 Opens at St Andrews and 5 in total, James Braid, who won 2 of his 5 Open Championships at St Andrews. Bobby Jones, the only amateur to win an Open Championship at St Andrews, Jack Nicklaus, who claimed 2 Opens at St Andrews to go with his record 18-major haul. Seve Ballesteros whose celebration and fist pump in 1984 on the 18th hole at St Andrews is one of the iconic moments in golf. Sir Nick Faldo set the lowest Open Championship winning score with his victory in 1990.

The Open Championship at St Andrews will be one of the most anticipated and highly attended in many years with golfers from around the world descending on The Home of Golf to capture the magical moments that The Old Course provides each time it plays host to golf’s oldest Major Championship.

Source link